# **Minutes**

### Annual Meeting of the General Assembly

5 July 2005

Harrogate International Centre at 3.00pm

#### **Present**

Three hundred and twenty seven authorities in full membership and thirty five authorities in corporate membership were represented at the meeting.

### 1. Appointment of President and Vice-Presidents

The Chief Executive, Sir Brian Briscoe, welcomed representatives to the meeting and invited nominations for the position of President of the Association.

It was moved by Cllr Sir Sandy Bruce - Lockhart CBE (Kent County Council), seconded by Cllr Sir Jeremy Beecham (Newcastle upon Tyne City Council), and **agreed** that Lord Best be elected President of the Association until the next Annual Meeting.

Sir Brian Briscoe then invited the Assembly to consider the appointment of Vice-Presidents for the coming year. The Assembly **agreed** to the appointment of the following persons as Vice-Presidents of the LGA:

#### **MPs**

#### Conservatives

Christopher Chope OBE MP
The Rt Hon David Curry MP
Andrew Lansley CBE MP
Eric Pickles MP
Caroline Spelman MP

#### Labour

Clive Betts MP
The Rt Hon Stephen Byers MP
Mary Creagh MP
Andrew Dismore MP
The Rt. Hon Nick Raynsford MP
Barry Sheerman MP

#### **Liberal Democrat**

Lynne Featherstone MP
Julia Goldsworthy MP
Paul Rowen MP
Andrew Stunell OBE MP

### **Peers**

### Conservative

Baroness Hanham CBE Lord Hanningfield DL The Rt Hon The Lord Jenkin of Roding

#### Labour

Lord Cunningham
Lord Harris of Haringey
Baroness Hollis
Lord Peter Smith
Lord Whitty

### **Liberal Democrat**

Baroness Barker Lord Bradshaw Lord Dholakia Baroness Maddock Lord Roger Roberts

### **Cross Benchers**

Lord Butler of Brockwell GCB CVO Lord Dearing Baroness Greengross OBE Baroness Howarth of Breckland Lord Laming CBE DL Baroness Prashar CBE

### **MEPs**

### Labour

Richard Howitt MEP

### Conservative

Edward McMillan-Scott MEP

# **Liberal Democrat**

Andrew Duff MEP Fiona Hall MEP Saj Karim MEP

# 2. Election of Chairman

Sir Brian Briscoe invited nominations for the position of Chairman of the Association. It was moved, seconded and **agreed** that Cllr Sir Sandy Bruce – Lockhart CBE (Kent County Council) be elected Chairman of the LGA until the next Annual Meeting.

#### 3. Election of Vice-Chairs

The Chairman invited nominations for the two positions of Vice-Chair. The following nominations were moved and duly seconded:

Cllr Sir Jeremy Beecham (Newcastle upon Tyne City Council)

Cllr Margaret Eaton OBE (Bradford MBC)

Cllr Sir Jeremy Beecham and Cllr Margaret Eaton were **elected** as Vice-Chairs of the Association until the next Annual Meeting.

# 4. Election of Deputy Chairs

The following were elected as Deputy Chairs until the next Annual Meeting:

- Cllr Richard Kemp (Liverpool City Council)
- Cllr Chloe Lambert (Aylesbury Vale DC)
- Cllr Simon Milton (Westminster City Council)
- Cllr Ian Swithenbank CBE (Northumberland County Council)

# 5. Minutes of the General Assembly Meeting held on 15 December 2004

The minutes were agreed as a correct record of the meeting.

## 6. LGA Summer Review 2005

The Chairman expressed his appreciation to members for all their support since the last meeting and set out a review of progress made by the Association on behalf of local government during the last parliament.

The Assembly endorsed the summer review.

# 7. Report of LGA Scrutiny Panel

The Chair of the Scrutiny Panel, Cllr Malcolm Blanksby, reported that since the last meeting of the General Assembly the Panel had completed a major scrutiny of the fire dispute negotiations.

The report of this scrutiny, together with a response by the LGA Executive, was **endorsed** by the Assembly, and the report was **received**.

# 8. Audited Accounts (Financial Statements) for the Year ended 31 March 2005

The Assembly received the audited accounts for 2004/05

### 9. Relations with Wales

The Assembly **noted** a report updating the meeting on developments since the changes to the Association's constitution related to the membership of Welsh local authorities were agreed by the Assembly at its meeting on 15 December 2004.

# 10. Dates of Future Meetings

The dates for future meetings were noted as follows:

Monday, 12 December 2005 (at the Queen Elizabeth II Conference Centre in London) Tuesday 4 July 2006 (at the Bournemouth International Centre)